What version/patch/etc./etc./etc. should I play on my second PC

Jamie

Dec 27, 2012
Due to an untimely death back in the summer, I have access to another computer and sets of Diablo 2. I have finally worked up the nerve to actually grab up the computer and am making an attempt to use it.

I had first thought of using it to glitch baal runs, but I ultimately decided that I wanted to play really old patches. When I started playing Diablo 2, I was playing when 1.09 just came out. I would like to try some of the older patches and find some of the really cool and Godly items that can spawn.
I just installed the classic D2 and it is version 1.03. Due to having so many different versions of the game, I'm not really sure what patch the game will update to if I install Xpac. I'm thinking about maybe playing 1.03 classic. I have CD Keys written down on paper and it made the classic 1.03, but I am not sure if I throw in the XP disc (it says the year 2001 on it) if it will update it to a higher patch that I don't want. I want the xpac key I have listed on the paper to turn to 1.07.

I want to play old versions where I can get like old items that have crazy stats. I would love any advice on how to set this up.

Last edited:
When installing from the CDs and never connecting to battlenet, the game will remain at its original patch level. When installing the expansion pack, the classic game will be patched up to 1.07.

You can install the game multiple times and each can be at a different patch level. Install it, rename the game directory, install again, rename again, install again etc., then create icons/shortcuts by hand.

Old patch levels might have to be started with admin privileges.

When installing from the CDs and never connecting to battlenet, the game will remain at its original patch level. When installing the expansion pack, the classic game will be patched up to 1.07.