Sorceress Static Field

Use this prefix for Sorceress posts.

Elly

Administrator
Staff member
Feb 21, 2011
www.purediablo.com
Is it bonkers to ramp up Static Field to have a massive radius? I play in MP games and use Blizzard. I'm new to the Sorc and on NM just now and it's still working out fine.

When I respecced just before starting NM I again ramped up Static Field but now I have my NM respec I'm wondering if I should carry on or I'll live to regret this route.

I'm suspicious that it's still working so well.

I make no claims to being a great Sorc player. But my concerns would be:
- points in Static meaning fewer points in synergies
- the limit on Static in Hell to no more than 50% of monster health
- monster health regen in Hell partially negating Static's benefits for anything outside your Blizzard

I think of the skill in terms of how close I need to get to the specific mobs I'm trying to kill. I'm less concerned with hitting the whole screen, because I can't follow-up with damage on the whole screen.

So, enough hard points in Static to be comfortable, but if "ramp up" means maxing it...personally I think I would end up wishing for some of those points back once I hit Hell.

On the other hand, if you're typically running with others who could apply damage to more of the screen than you can alone, then more Static radius probably would increase the group kill speed.

My two cents anyway. We need a Sorc guru to weigh in!

Reactions: Elly
been playing sorcs almost all my life i just hit it with 1 point... the +skills from gear will take care of the rest. same goes for telekenisis and teleport

I'm not putting more than one skill point into static field. I'm using that skill in desparate situations only, like when getting past tough bosses in order to finish quests while having crappy gear.