I need some help recovering my characters please!

Jamie

Dec 27, 2012
I have been playing single player on patch 1.13d. I upgraded it to the latest patch 1.14d just a moment ago.

Now I can't access any of my single player characters anymore. They still show up in the save folder, but when I click on single player in game, it instructs me to start a new char and there are none listed anymore.

The other day I had one disappear even though it still showed up in the save folder. I didn't fret over it because it was just a level 1. That character still showed up in the save files, it just didn't show up in the actual game. In fact, it still shows up now with all the characters I lost today.

Can somebody please help me with how to get my characters to show back up in the Game? They are all still in the save folder so I hope they aren't completely gone. I just can't figure out how to access them in game. I'm not good with computers these days :(

Thank you for any help! Much appreciated!

They changed the save path in 1.14 to "C:\<user name>\Saved Games\Diablo II"

It should have migrated the characters. You can move them manually or, if you want to retain the old save path, do this in regedit:
HKCU\Software\Blizzard Entertainment\Diablo II
- NewSavePath "C:\Program Files (x86)\Diablo II\save"
To get the old path back.

They changed the save path in 1.14 to "C:\<user name>\Saved Games\Diablo II"

It should have migrated the characters. You can move them manually or, if you want to retain the old save path, do this in regedit:
HKCU\Software\Blizzard Entertainment\Diablo II
- NewSavePath "C:\Program Files (x86)\Diablo II\save"
To get the old path back.

When I go to the saved games\Diablo II folder, it only has my characters from online. There are no single player characters.

All of my single player characters are in my C:\Program Files (x86)\Diablo II\save folder like they normally are.