1.07 object popping assassin theorycrafting

pharphis

Aug 1, 2011
Howdy,

I am in the process of making an assassin that can run very rapidly due to 1.07 frw boost from items being way better than later versions, as well as no keys + burst of speed.

I've got some questions regarding how to do this effectively, though, since I have almost no experience with this char AND the skills may function differently in 1.07.

My rough idea of how to build the char is max burst of speed + weapon block (does this work in 1.07? It doesn't show anything in LCS) and stack up on mostly FRW equipment with some res/life for safety. I'm guessing max shadow master (or the other one?) as a meatshield and at least one point in mindblast. Is cloak of shadows worthwhile in 1.07? What if I'm running across an area very quickly? Again, I have very little experience here. I don't think think a merc is worthwhile but perhaps a ice blast merc would be *acceptable* with great gear

Gear:
Arkaine's for huge life bonus + def + some res/fhr - unfortunately lvl req = 85
Valk wing (30 frw, fcr, ias, fhr...)
mav belt (40 frw)
40 frw boots (probably nat's or aldur's)
2x bartuc's chop-chop (I already have 2 of these and they give some + skills)
rings = ravenfrost if necessary for CBF as well as either some res/fcr/life or dwarf star (life, mdr).
CBF gloves or stat boost (IK gloves) or LoH for fire immunity
HLW for amulet because 30 frw, +skill, lite res
weapon swap = ...? craint vomir gives 20 frw for running in town but that makes almost no difference at this speed.

Some other questions I have:
What does ias affect vs fcr? Since i don't plan to use any traps, is ias needed at all?
What about dragon flight? Do I need to target a monster to use this? What affects this?
If ias doesn't help, what would be best in my bartuc's (or other weapons if better)? hel rune would help to save some stats, but not all that much.